Revlon Ultra HD Matte Lip Colour

 

Hello there! Once again, apologies for the absence. I have been really swamped with work and many other things which have caused me to get behind with this blog. It’s so easy for things to get in the way and stop you doing what you enjoy. But never mind, I’m back now and I plan to continue blogging regularly as I enjoy it so much, so here we go!

Much like Next, which you may remember from a previous post, Revlon was another particular brand that I often stayed away from. Again, they seemed to cater for people of an older age group than myself, to put it nicely. But in the last couple of years, Revlon has had a bit of an image and product overhaul. They seem to have brought themselves back into mainstream popularity with their new ranges and image using the slogan ‘Love Is On’. I’m really liking this new look. One of it’s most spoken about products is the Ultra HD Matte Lip Colour. Matte lipsticks have become very popular lately, and also I had never tried one before, so I was keen to see what all the fuss was about.

 

revlon-exclusive-store-gip-mall-noida-17
Not my picture!

 

The first shade I bought is called ‘Devotion’. One of the initial things I noticed about the product was the smell. It smelled just like a raspberry flavoured sponge cake! Which is delicious I might add! I discovered that the coverage is quite thick when putting it on, so you only need a very small amount on the applicator. The colour is quite pigmented and vibrant which has made it a great wear for summer. I’ve been using it a lot over the last couple of months.

 

thumbnail_img_0099
How ‘Devotion’ looks on my lips.

 

The colour lasts a long time which is another great thing. Whenever I’ve put it on, it has lasted most of the day with only the need for one top up application. I noticed that the colour transferred occasionally whenever I didn’t give it time to soak in, but in terms of lasting power it is really good. Once the colour sets, it looks beautifully matte.

I was so impressed with this lip colour that I got a second one! This shade is called ‘Love’. It’s a bright red very highly pigmented colour, as you can see below! It’s a really good shade if you’re looking to add a real vibrant statement to your look. These two shades go greatly with my skin tone, which as you can see is very light. I also think that they would suit a lot of other skin types as well, particularly dark shades. Strong pigmented colours look great on darker skin. On the subject, Revlon have a nice range of vibrant colours in this collection which are quite daring but will suit a lot of people.

 

img_0178
‘Love’ on my lips 😉

 

Another thing I’ve noticed about these colours is that they can sometimes dry out your lips. Now, as I’m new to matte lip colours, I’m not sure if this is something I should expect with these types of products or not. I tend to suffer with dry lips anyway, so I often use lip balm as a base before applying lipstick which helps a lot so I did the same again with this product. One other issue with this product is that it can be difficult to take off, but that’s probably due to the fact that it soaks and dries onto the skin.

Overall though, I really like this product and both these colours. Being a newbie to matte colours, I’m really glad to have found a good product to start with, otherwise I could’ve been put off wearing them in the future. There are at least 7 colours in the range that I know about, so I think I’ll be buying some more soon! I can really see what all the fuss is about, matte lips really do look good. I look forward to experimenting with many more matte colours in the future.

 

photo

 

So this was my first product review post, I hope you enjoyed it! I really like the product, and I hope this has been helpful for anyone who is starting to look into buying matte lip colours. I’ll be back blogging again soon!

~ Ali ~

 

Leave a Reply

