Slimming World: Week 3

This week so far has been strange. I seem to have been hit with a big wave of fatigue. On the first day, I ran an errand or two, did some food shopping, but spent the rest of the day doing work around the house. The next day it took me all the strength I had to get out of bed. I woke up briefly at 8am, drearily made some breakfast and read some of my book, then went back to sleep and set my alarm for 11am to make sure I didn’t sleep in too long. But I just kept hitting the snooze button and drifting back off again. It was 12pm before I finally woke up properly, and even then I had to force myself awake. It was 1pm before I got out of bed to have lunch! This is really unlike me. This usually only ever happens the day after a really long busy one. I looked online and found some pages which said that sometimes sudden weight loss can cause temporary fatigue, which is what I guess it must be. I can’t imagine that it’s depression coming back because I feel well mentally at the moment, it’s just my physical energy has depleted. What worries me is that I have work tomorrow, will I cope?

Yes I did! I managed to get through the few days I had at work. On the first day back I felt a lot better and was able to get through it. I think having some rest a few days before really helped. I’m still not 100% sure what caused that fatigue, I can only think that it was down to the amount that I lost in a short space of time. I have spoken to one of the other members in our group who has experienced the same thing when she lost a large amount of weight, which reassured me. In terms of making food for work I’ve been a bit stuck for ideas. I made ham a sandwich with brown bread and a small slice of cheese to start with. Then put an Alpen Light Bar in which I’m really addicted to at the moment! I’ve swapped my breakfast, so that I take Weetabix with me in my cereal tupperware box. I’ve pretty much been doing the same since. I need to start looking into good recipes that are suitable for taking to work.

img_0827
These Alpen Light Bars have been a godsend! Only 3 Syns each!

During my days off after work, I spent some time with my boyfriend and family too. It was good to get out and walk Ollie (my boyfriend’s dog). I managed to slot in a couple of walks during the week, but couldn’t do much more than that. I still managed to stick to the diet, but did have the occasional treat when I wasn’t feeling too well. I’m still having my raspberries and fat free natural yoghurt as a regular dessert, it’s just so moorish. I just put a bit of sweeter on the top and mix them all together. Yum!

I decided to have another go at cooking some syn free sausages after my disaster in week 1! Brave, I know! This time I did it right and didn’t burn them! They didn’t taste quite as I’d hoped they would, I think I prefer ordinary sausages to these. They’re not bad with a bit of sauce but they taste a bit spicy for my liking.

8955077459998
Not my picture, sorry I forgot to take a photo of them!

On the Sunday, me and Luke went out for a meal with his brother and grandparents. We all had steaks I think except for maybe one of us. Mine was a sirloin steak with béarnaise sauce. It was quite possibly one of the best steaks I’ve ever had! I was concerned about how many syns the sauce had because it was creamy. But tasted quite light so maybe it could be less than I think. It was delicious and it had vine tomatoes, a large mushroom and a small amount of chips. I also had a small glass of wine too! I didn’t dare look at the syn count for it until after I’d had it!

img_0802
From my Instagram page @ali_edwardsx

Just before I continue, I apologise if this is rather a short post, that’s mostly because I haven’t really done much this week. What with feeling under the weather and then going to work. I only really did anything on the weekend! I’m hoping my next posts will be a bit longer than this one!

There’s part of me that’s thinking I might not lose weight this week due to the fact that I didn’t go for as many walks as I normally do. But the fact that I’m back at my rather physically demanding job gives me hope! I spend a lot of time on my feet, so I’m hoping that makes up for it!

Good news! Despite everything this week I have managed to lose another 2 pounds! I’m really glad because I didn’t think I’d lose anything. I’ve had a funny sort of a week and I knew I wasn’t likely to lose a lot but I’m definitely chuffed with that! I think it might be better to lose smaller amounts from now on, the drastic losses I’ve had have taken their toll on me. I’ve now lost a total of 11 1/2 pounds in the last 3 weeks which is really incredible. I never thought I would lose this much so quickly. I’m really happy I started going to Slimming World and I intend to carry on going for a long while yet!

~ Ali ~

Leave a Reply

