Slimming World: Week 11

Can you believe that I’m nearly at the end of my 12 week countdown? In one week’s time, I will have been going to Slimming World for three months! That’s insane! In this time I have lost over a stone and I’m now working towards getting my 1 1/2 stone award. I’ve never lost this much in such a short time with any other kind of healthy eating or exercise. I always gave up. My target is to lose 3 stone, so I will definitely keep going to Slimming World at least until I achieve that. I haven’t really thought about what I’ll do after I reach my target but I can think about that later. In these few months, I’ve seen a lot of people drop out which is sad. Yet at the same I’m happy with the knowledge that it proves I’m doing well and that I’m so determined to keep going. So this is how I’ve been doing this week…

Well after a pretty dull start to the year, I am going to try the best I possibly can to get rid of the pounds I gained last week. I started off by getting the latest Slimming World magazine from our group in the hope that it might help to motivate me. I love reading these as they help to give me ideas for meals and the stories you read of other members achieving their dream weight is inspiring.

img_0988
My little collection over the last few months!

Also I bought a new type of hifi bar which I haven’t tried before, the Rocky Road ‘Romance Me’ snacks. I really like Rocky Road when it’s made like this. Some put far too many nuts and crunchy things in, which I understand is where it gets it’s name, but I’m not a big fan of that. These however are lovely, they’re soft and have a great flavour to them. Just like the other hifi bars, they’re 3 syns each which make them a delicious guilt free snack. I’ll definitely be buying these again!

img_0990
The ‘Romance Me’ Rocky Road hifi light bars

The week has been up and down really, way more ups than last week though. I find that after any illnesses that I get have gone, I get left with very little energy after fighting off the infection. A lot of the time I reached for the quick and easy options like bacon sandwiches (with the fat cut off of course!) and syn free chips etc. Wherever I’ve had time and the energy though, I have been making more effort with the diet and I also tried a new recipe this week. This time I made Ham and Egg Muffins. When I first heard of these, I had to find out how they were made because I’d never heard of breakfast style savoury muffins before. I have to say it was a bizarre recipe but they are lovely! I served them with baked beans and they make a great all day breakfast style meal. They have the recipe on the website if you want to have a go at making it.

img_0975
Not bad for a first attempt!

This weekend, I was a bit naughty and had a small Pizza with my fella. It was his idea to have it for a meal in my defence, but I didn’t say no! It was Pepperoni which is my favourite and I just couldn’t resist it. The cheese just melted on my tongue and I could literally taste the fat but I just didn’t care. I have missed Pizza a lot lately, I still have one now and then but not nearly as often as I used to for obvious reasons. One thing’s for sure, when you distance yourself from fatty foods, you certainly appreciate them more when you do have them! I felt like I was in heaven!

As per tradition, we had Sunday Roast which included mostly syn free things and the odd naughty extras! There were the usual peas, carrots, potatoes among other things, but I may have added a Sausage and Yorkshire pudding in there too at some point! My mode of thinking at the time was that despite having these extras, I’d not had as much fat as last week. In hindsight that probably wasn’t the best way to look at it but still! I even treated myself to a pudding which I don’t think helped!

roast
Not my picture!

Due to the fact that I was working late on Monday evening, I had to weigh in at a different group this week. This time on a Tuesday night at a much larger group in a town not too far away from where I live. It was rather difficult to find and the there was a lot of people there. I can see how intimidating that can be to a new member and I’m glad I’m part of a smaller group. I think that the size of the group can make a difference in how long people stay as members. That’s just my opinion really, so I may be wrong. In a group like that, I just felt like a little fish in a big sea! I think I would’ve given up quite quickly if I’d continued going to that group!

Good news! I lost 1 pound this week! I’m so glad that some of the weight I put on last week is starting to go. After all that comfort eating, I needed to start eating better. My aim for next week is just to lose some more of what I’ve gained over Christmas. That’s all I can ask for really. It’s a difficult time of year for us Slimmers but as long as things are heading in the right direction, it should be fine! The next post will be about the final week of my 12 week countdown so my weekly Slimming World posts will be done. But don’t worry, after a short break I will be back doing new posts with a bit more variety! Some will be Slimming World related and others will be a mix of all sorts. I’ve had a blast doing this and I plan to keep going, see you next week!

~ Ali ~

Leave a Reply

