Slimming World: Week 12

So here we are! The final post of my 12 week countdown! When I look back on the last 3 months, I can’t believe how far I’ve come. To think I’ve lost over a stone in weight and that I’m now fast approaching my 1 1/2 stone award in that time is incredible. I’m proud of myself for sticking it out, even after having weeks where I’ve gained weight. I don’t plan to stop anytime soon. I’ll need to start thinking about what I’ll do once I reach my target weight, but there’s still time to plan that. All my weekly posts have been dedicated to my countdown but now it has come to an end. What I plan to do is continue weekly blogging (because I’ve enjoyed it so much!) but maybe start doing a wider variety of posts. I will definitely keep doing Slimming World updates, but I won’t be doing them as often to make room for other kinds of posts. I will be having a short break after this one has been published as I’ve got some time off work coming up, but I’ll be back. So don’t panic! This is not the end, it’s just the beginning!

beginning-2

Also I’d like to apologise for the lateness of this post. This is due to illness, work, personal life commitments etc. Because of all these things, I have fallen way behind in getting these posts published. As it stands now, this post is five weeks late! Again, sorry for that but as usual life got busy as it very often does, and I hope you understand.

So onto my progress this week…

At least once a week since starting Slimming World, I eat homemade Beef Burgers. This week was no different. They’re great because they make you feel like you’re being bad when really you’re not. I’ve mentioned them before on previous posts and they are completely syn free! I tend to make them either the same day or the day after being weighed so that it feels like I’m giving myself a treat at the end of a week of dieting. To celebrate my loss last week, I had them in the evening after my weigh- in. They have become a permanent part of my weekly menu. I felt I should give them a special mention seen as they have been such a big part of my diet over the last few months!

img_0955
Ready to go in the oven!

A few days ago, I had another bash at cooking Diet Cola Chicken. I had made it before but it hadn’t quite gone so well. I put too much passata and coke in and then cooked it on heat that was too high. This time though it went a lot better and it tasted much nicer. This time it came out looking like this…

img_1004
Diet Cola Chicken

It’s no wonder this one is such a favourite with other members. I had mine with diced peppers as I’m not keen on the bigger pieces of it. The sauce really goes well with the Chicken and gives it a great zingy flavour. I will be sure to keep on making this as another of my go-to syn free meals.

At the weekend, me and my fella decided to treat ourselves to a ready made meal. So we went to the local shop and got ourselves the most healthy looking thing we could find, which was difficult I can tell you! Ready meals are notoriously bad for you but we settled for Meatballs with Parmesan Mash and then treated ourselves to something I rarely have anymore, Ciabatta Garlic Bread. I love Garlic Bread, it’s so bad for you but it’s so good. It tastes amazing on Ciabatta Bread in particular if you’ve never had it I suggest you try it. It’s amazing!

img_0952.jpg
Saturday Night Dinner
img_0953
Ciabatta Garlic Bread

When I think about how my eating habits have changed since last year, I am astounded. I was really particular about what I ate and wasn’t really that willing to try new things. Now I’m a lot more open to trying new things, even if it’s just the once and I end up not liking it. I’ve still made the effort. It’s another thing to be proud of on this road to losing 3 stones. I’ve discovered many foods that I didn’t think I’d like but ended up loving! I’m not gonna lie it has been difficult, but I’ve managed to tackle a lot of my bad habits. I’m more aware of what’s good and bad for me and not just in the obvious ways. Learning that things like pasta and cooked breakfasts which I thought would’ve been a no go before starting, is actually pretty good for you! As long as you cook it the correct way.

I’ve lost another 1/2 lbs this week! I’m happy with that, it may be a small loss but it’s still a loss none the less. I said to myself when I started this that I wouldn’t complain about the amount I lose week-to-week, because as long as I lose that’s all that matters. It seems odd to me that people moan about only losing a small amount one week, yet they’re still lighter than they were the previous week. Also they are significantly lighter than they were at the start. Baffling! This takes me to a total loss of 1st 3lbs! I’m so happy that I’ve managed to get this far and I’m still going to keep going. I’m sad that my Slimming World weekly posts have come to an end, but after a short break I’ll be back blogging weekly about many other things! I’m so determined to get to target now, nothing’s going to stop me!

~ Ali ~

Leave a Reply

