When we went to Amsterdam: Day 3

Oh my god this is so late, but I thought it was high time I made an effort to complete this post. As you may know it was a while ago since I went to Amsterdam with Luke, but I never got round to finishing this post and other newer ones kind of took priority. Before I knew it, months had gone by and I just gave up on writing the rest of it. As it happens, I was stuck for ideas on what to blog about this week so I thought: why not finish an old post that I never got round to completing? So here it is…

IMG_3308

Day 3

The first thing we did this morning was have breakfast at a local Café. There are so many here that make a great breakfasts and pastries which of course is what they’re famous for. Every breakfast we’ve had has been out in town and up to yet, I’ve not been disappointed with any of the food. Today we decided it would be fun to go to Madame Tussaud’s, we went in the early afternoon so that we had time to do other things later on. It’s situated in the Dam Square right next to the palace, only a moderate walk from our hotel. The ticket we got was part of a deal which would also get us into the Amsterdam Dungeon, we saved our ticket and decided to use it the next day. Being in Madame Tussauds is so much fun, a few months ago I went to the one in New York which was great. This one was good too and Luke loved messing around with all the models! Here are some of our favourite pictures from the visit…

IMG_3333

IMG_3324

IMG_3336

IMG_3352

IMG_3366
David doesn’t look too happy with Luke fiddling around with his clothes!

After having a lot of fun and laughs with wax models, we went on a walk around the town. This place is just so beautiful to wander around and see what there is to see. The buildings are so unique, they’re tall and slim but oddly shaped. Sometimes I wonder how they don’t collapse but I suppose this mysteriousness is what makes them so quirky! The city’s size is perfect, in that you don’t feel like you have to walk for miles to get to different places. Everything seems to be somewhat close by.

After this little stroll, we went on to do a boat cruise around the main canals of Amsterdam. It was amazing, anywhere that we hadn’t explored was covered in this trip and we were able to see the city going from light to darkness. This way we saw the lights come on at dusk and could observe how stunning everything looked under artificial light. Here are some of our pictures from the trip…

IMG_3377

IMG_3384

IMG_3411

IMG_3436

After finishing the boat trip, we headed down to the Hard Rock Cafe. It’s become a kind of tradition for me and Luke to visit one in every new city we go to whether it’s close to home or abroad. This one was right next to the canal and we were lucky enough to get a window seat. This way we could look out on the boats going past and the beauty of Amsterdam at night. Here we had cocktails and burgers to fill us up after a busy day! They were delicious, I wish I could remember the name of the cocktails we had but so much time has passed since, I’ve completely forgotten which ones we had! We had a while to wait for a table (about half an hour) but it was worth it. I also bought a T-Shirt to commemorate my visit!

IMG_3478

Hope you enjoyed this post which has summed up day three of our trip to Amsterdam. Sorry again that it’s so late, but I finally got round to finishing it off! It was difficult to remember everything that happened on that day, and I’ve had to rely heavily on the journal I kept of the trip to get the details spot on. I was struggling this week to think of what I really wanted to write about, and all that came into my head was getting this one completed, so that’s what I did. There will be one last post on this in the near future combining days 4 & 5 together as day 5 mostly consisted of the journey home, which wouldn’t be an interesting post! Thanks for reading and I’ll be back with another post next week!

~ Ali ~

Leave a Reply

